Florentino Perez continues as Real Madrid president


Florentino Perez has been re-elected unopposed as Real Madrid president for another four years.

74 year old Perez has been at the helm of affairs with the La Liga giants for a total of 18 years over two spells, from 2000 until 2006 and then since 2009 till date. His first six-year spell in charge, remembered as the “Galactico” era, saw the club sign Luis Figo, Zinedine Zidane, Ronaldo Nazario and David Beckham and win two La Liga titles, as well as the Champions League in 2002.

It’s the third time in a row that Perez has been re-elected without a vote, after he also faced no challengers in 2013 and 2017.